Welcome to Kehinde Popoola's website

INEC Extends PVC Registration To August 31st | Registers 23 New Political Parties

INEC Extends PVC Registration To August 31st | Registers 23 New Political Parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday announced the extension of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) to August 31 from August 17 it had earlier announced.

#GetYourPVC: Dear Nigerians, You Have Just Days To Register To Vote In 2019 Elections

The electoral body also announced the registration of 23 new political parties, raising the number of registered parties in Nigeria to ninty-one.

The commission said:

The Commission has decided to extend the CVR to 31st August 2018. The exercise will continue in all the designated registration centres every day, including weekends, but excluding public holidays, between 9am and 5pm.

A statement signed by Mohammed Haruna, INEC National Commissioner and Member, Voter Education and Publicity Committee in Abuja, said it decided to extend the exercise which commenced on April 27, 2017, by opening permanent registration centres in all 774 Local Government offices and 672 other centres.

Here’s How To Obtain, Check Your Voters Registration Status Ahead Of 2019 Polls

It said the decision was to ensure that all year round, Nigerians who turned 18 years would have the opportunity to register.

“Consequently, the current CVR has been going on for 16 months. As at 11th August 2018, the Commission has registered an additional 12,139,061 new voters.”

It said that in order to have enough time to clean up the provisional register and print the Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC) in good time for the elections, it decided to suspend the exercise on August 17 to resume after the elections.

1 Advanced Alliance Party APP
2 Advanced NigeriaDemocratic Party ANDP
3 African Action Congress AAC
4 Alliance for a United Nigeria AUN
5 Alliance of Social Democrats ASD
6 Alliance National Party ANP
7 Allied People’s Movement APM
8 Alternative Party of Nigeria APN
9 Change Nigeria Party CNP
10 Congress Of Patriots COP
11 Liberation MovementLM
12 Movement for Restoration and Defence of Democracy MRDD
13 Nigeria Community Movement Party NCMP
14 Nigeria For Democracy NFD
15 Peoples Coalition Party PCP
16 Reform and Advancement Party RAP
17 Save NigeriaCongress SNC
18 United Patriots UP
19 United Peoples Congress UPC
20 We The PeopleNigeria WTPN
21 Yes Electorates Solidarity YES
22 Youth Party YP
23 Zenith Labour Party ZLP

The post INEC Extends PVC Registration To August 31st | Registers 23 New Political Parties appeared first on 360Nobs.com.

Have something to add? Share it in the comments.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *